Quilt Update #2

September 3, 2009

 

sorry the picture is blurry, but you get the drift.  if it seems the quilt is getting skinnier as it goes up, it is.  stupid math skills.

sorry the picture is blurry, but you get the drift. if it seems the quilt is getting skinnier as it goes up, it is. stupid math skills.

Somewhere in my calculations, I didn’t add one of the seam allowances for the solid colored squares. They are all 1/4 inch too small. So halfway through sewing today I decided to just cut the patterned pieces to the same size as the solids – which resulted in the quilt getting skinnier. HA!! This is proof that I don’t think through things. I want stuff done asap. (Better example of my impatience: Tara and I were home for college one summer and wanted to buy bikes. So we immediately drove to Target, purchased two $50 bikes, rode them out to our 1991 Honda Civic and THEN realized we had no way to get the bikes home. Thanks to Uncle Kevin & his truck, the bikes made it home.)

Here are a few of the seams. I am not fixing the seams because it would ruin all the work I’ve already done. And again, I want to finish this thing asap. Unfortunately, I am always this lazy.

 

5 Responses to “Quilt Update #2”

  1. Megan Kuhl said

    Hi Amanda! Found your blog on facebook and it is so cute! Still looking for name ideas? I was thinking maybe a play on words, like “Close knit” or “You have me in stitches” or something…guess that one’s a little long though. But something along those lines of thinking might be cute.

    • amandaveneman said

      Hi Megan!! So sweet of you to think about a name for my blog! I like the word stitches, but yes it is kind of a long name! I know something will come to me, but until then the blog name is Untitled! ha! Nice to hear from you =)

  2. kourtney said

    yay!!!!! your quilt is so cute!!!! me and tereza and tara got together last week and sewed! next time you come in town lets do it again!!!!

  3. Mommy said

    YOU MAKE ME LAUGH SO HARD LITTLE GIRL. Oops, had the caps lock on. Anyway, you are too funny, I love the bike story, I had forgotten about that!

    Your quilt is pretty, but a little skinny…lol…Love you!

  4. sarah said

    it looks really good–despite the skinny-ness and unmatched seams

Leave a Reply

